Cricket World Cup 2018 Qualifiers

Cricket World Cup 2018 Qualifiers

Cricket World Cup 2018 Qualifiers

Cricket Word Cup 2018 Qualifier Tournament was held in Zimbabwe in march 2018, Afghanistan and West Indies were the toppers of the tournament and have qualified for the Cricket World Cup online 2019.

World Cup 2018 Qualifier Host

In October 2017, ICC announced that Zimbabwe would host the World Cup Qualifier which was held from 4 March to 25 March 2018. Previously the tournament was scheduled to be played in Bangladesh, but after the possible automatic qualification of Bangladesh for Cricket world cup 2019, it was decided to schedule the tournament in Zimbabwe as Bangladesh would not be needed to play in the Qualifier tournament.

World Cup 2018 Qualifier Teams

world cup 2018 qualifier teams

[table id=9 /]

Four full members teams West Indies, Ireland, Afghanistan and Zimbabwe, and Six associate members team UAE, Nepal, Papua New Guinea, Hong Kong contested in the World Cup 2018 Qualifier Tournament. So, total 10 teams played the tournament with the aim of qualifying for Cricket World Cup 2019.

The Windies along Afghanistan, Ireland and Zimbabwe were not able to go through the automatic qualification for CWC19 as they all were ranking above the 8th spot of ICC ODI rankings.

The other four teams Scotland, the Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, and Hong Kong qualified after getting the top four position in the 2015-2017 ICC World Cricket League Championship.

The remaining two teams Nepal and UAE (United Arab Emirates) selected for Zimbabwe hosted tournament after becoming the finalist of ICC World Cricket League Division 2.

Cricket World Cup 2018 Qualifiers

World Cup 2018 Qualifier Tournament Format

10 teams participated in the tournament and a total of 34 matches were played among these teams. This tournament was the decider for two teams that would progress to play in Cricket world cup 2019 in England & Wales.

In the group stage total 20 matches were played among ten teams and after the conclusion of the group stage matches Afghanistan, West Indies, Ireland, Scotland, United Arab Emirates, and Zimbabwe qualified to the Super Six stage.

The teams which didn’t qualify for the super Six stage were Nepal, Hong Kong, Netherlands, and Papua New Guinea. The good news for Scotland and United Arab Emirates is that they kept alive their ODI status till 2022 after progressing to the Super Six stage of the tournament.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Full Schedule

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Teams Online

The bottom four teams of the group stage competed in the playoffs for getting ODI (One day Internationals) status. The teams were Nepal, Papua New Guinea, Netherlands, and Hong Kong. Netherlands gained their ODI spot after beating Hong Kong in the playoffs while Nepal beat Papua New Guinea to guarantee their ODI Status for the first time.

1st World Cup Qualifier West Indies

West Indies vs Scotland World Cup Qualifier

West Indies become the first CWC19 qualifier after beating Scotland by five wickets through Duckworth-Lewis method.

West Indies the two times World Cup Champions didn’t qualify in the automatic ranking spots as they were ranking above the eighth spot in ICC ODI ranking at 30 September 2017 cutoff date.

The top eight teams automatically qualified for World Cup 2019. West Indies contested the World Cup 2018 Qualifier tournament among nine other teams. They shattered the hopes of Scotland for qualifying World Cup 2019 after beating them by 5 runs in a rain-affected match in a super sixes stage. The winner was decided by the Duckworth-Lewis method.

Scotland’s Safyaan Sharif was named man of the match for his outstanding bowling performance of 3-27. Scotland previously participated in 1999, 2007 and 2015 World Cups.

2nd World Cup Qualifier Afghanistan

2nd World Cup Qualifier Afghanistan

Afghanistan was the winner of ICC Cricket World Cup qualifier 2018 after beating West Indies in the Final at Harare sport club and has become the second qualifier for ICC Cricket World Cup 2019.

Afghanistan was living on the edge after they lost their initial three matches at the group stage and then somehow they managed to qualify for the Super Six stage after Nepal upset Hong Kong.

Afghanistan was given the green signal for Cricket World Cup 2019 after they beat Ireland in a last tension-filled match of Super Six stage. Afghanistan bowled really well on a good batting pitch and restricted the Ireland batsmen to 209 for seven. On the other hand, Afghanistan completed the target at the cost of Five wickets with Five bowls to spare. The player of the match was Mohammad Shahzad.

This year’s world cup would be Afghanistan’s second consecutive world cup event, they previously played in World Cup 2015 as well and has beaten Scotland by three wickets in that tournament.

After beating Ireland, Afghanistan faced West Indies the two times World Cup champions in a Final of the Cricket World Cup Qualifier. They confidently beat the Windies by a big margin of seven wickets with almost ten overs to spare. Again player of the final match was Mohammad Shahzad. Rashid Khan picked up his 100th wicket in that match.

Points Table of Super Six Stage

Points Table of Super Six Stage

Read about the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Tickets here.