Find Out the Prize Money of World Cup 2019..

prize money of cricket world cup 2019

Cricket World Cup 2019 Trophy Price

Cricket World Cup 2019 is just a few days away, starting from May 30, 2019, at England and Wales. Everyone seems to be Curious and want to know the Prize money of Cricket World Cup 2019.

Do you know how much is the World Cup 2019 prize money?

Well, ICC has announced this month’s Cricket World Cup Trophy price, and it is 40% higher than the last World Cup 2015 and 60% than the World Cup 2011.

A total of US$10 million that will be awarded to all the ten participating teams, among this price the winner will get the reward of $4 million plus every team would get a cash price of $40,000 for every winning match in the round robin stage.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 is one of the top 10 highest paying sporting competition in term of the prize money, and it will definitely make the CWC 2019 more enjoyable than ever.

Indeed cricket is one of the most entertaining and watchable game in the world, the fans around the world are also excited and wish their team win the event and get the big reward of the World Cup.  

All the participating teams in the World Cup will get a huge chunk, here in this article; we will break down the ICC World Cup 2019 Prize and share the details how it will be distributed among teams.

Read more: Opening Ceremony of Cricket World Cup 2019

Cash Price Of World Cup 2019 Break down:

As the format of the cricket has changed, today cricket is most entertaining than the ‘90s, the T20 and popular leagues have almost taken over the cricket to a different style. This is the reason Cricket World Cup is the second watchable event after Fifa, and it is the cricket craze that ICC has increased the prize money of the World Cup 2019.

ICC CWC 2019 – Prize Money   Total
Winner (1) $ 4,000,000$ 4,000,000$ 4,000,000
Runner-up (1) $ 2,000,000$2,000,000$2,000,000
Losing Semi-Finalist (2) $800,000$ 800,000$ 1,600,000
Winner of Each League Stage Match (45) $ 40,000$ 40,000$ 1,800,000
Teams that do pass the League Stage (6) $ 100,000$ 100,000$ 600,000
Total $10,000,000   $10,000,000

The winner of CWC 2019 will get a reward of US$ 4,000,000, while the runner up team will receive a total of US$ 2,000,000. All the participating teams will be awarded $400,000, even if they are eliminated after the group stages. 

History of Prize Money for the World Cup:

Every year the popularity of cricket is increasing, this is the reason ICC also raise the prize money for every World Cup.

If we see the prize money for the World Cup 2003, it was just a total of around $4.5 million, in 2007 the prize money was less than 2003, but in 2011 ICC doubled the amount of prize money.

Then in the 2015 Cricket World Cup, the prize money increased 20% and a total of $10 million cash price was announced by ICC. The same amount has been announced as cash price for the grand event of Cricket World Cup 2019 as well with enhancement in a winner and runner ups prize money.

You can see the huge hike in prize money compared last World Cup 2015 in the table:

Prize Money Comparison of Cricket World Cup 2015 & 2019

Winners$3.975 million$4 million
Runners-up$1.75 million$2 million
2 Losing Semi-Finalists$600,000 – each$800,000 – each
8 Eliminated teams from group stages$300,000 – each (quarter finalists) & $ 35,000 (group stage)$500,000 – each
Winning group match$45,000 for each group match win$40,000 for every group match win
TOTAL $10 Million $10 Million