Australia Squad revealed for Cricket World Cup 2019, No Handscomb

Australia Squad revealed for Cricket World Cup 2019, No Handscomb
Australia Squad revealed for Cricket World Cup 2019, No Handscomb

Australia has officially announced the 15 member Squad for the 10-nation ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019. The Big event is set to kick off on 30th May 2019 in England and Wales.

watch cricket world cup online

Australia rules cricket!! Australia has won the Cricket World Cup five times with three in a row and was a runner up in two World Cups. It is the most successful, unbeatable and competitive team of the World Cup.

The good news for Australian cricket fans is that Steven Smith and David Warner have been selected in the 15 players Squad for CWC19.

Australia has a very balanced Squad for this World cup, luckily the expected return of two great players a former skipper Steve Smith and aggressive David Warner make the Aussies as one of the strongest contester in the Cricket’s Big event.

Both players are coming back after one year ban, but they are currently playing in the Indian Premier League and looking in a top-notch form.

Unfortunately, some of the great veterans dropped, the most surprising exclusion is the omission of the pacer Josh Hazlewood and in form brilliant batsman Peter Handscomb.

Halewood is having a back injury, and Handscomb dropped despite being in a top form and was a great option as the backup wicket-keeper as well, However, due to recent tremendous performance of Usman Khawaja and Aaron Finch’s outrageous batting style, the selectors were left with no choice but to name them in the final 15 Squad.

Read more: List of TV Channels that would Broadcast World Cup 2019

Also, Kane Richardson and Ashton Tuner are left out; they both played recently against India. Jhye Richardson and Mitchell Starc both named in the World Cup Squad subject to their fitness.

Aaron Finch is going to lead the Australian Team in the World Cup 2019 along with Pat Cummins as vice-captain and Alex Carey serving as wicketkeeper in the squad.

Nathan Lyon is ready to set up his first appearance in the Mega event of Cricket. Australia has great hope of Nathan Lyon; he is the most successful spinner after Shane Warne in the test matches. However, the World Cup would be very challenging for him.

Adam Zampa is the key player and first choice when it comes to a destructive leg break and googly. Adam Zampa is the leading wicket-taker in 2019.

Experienced Nathan Lyon will also have fight side by side and could be a very useful facet.

Read more: New Zealand Squad announced for ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

Australia always produced great wicketkeepers, who can forget the legend Adam Gilchrist; he had the most dismissals as a wicketkeeper in Australia.

This time, it’s Alex Carey who has been named as wicket-keeper. He is the only full-time wicket-keeper without any proper backup in the World Cup 2019.

Alex Carey needs to be extra careful if he gets an injury then it would be very difficult to manage a new wicket-keeper as a replacement as it will require the approval of the ICC’s event technical committee.

Australia had a backup in the form of Handscomb, Matthew Wade and Travis Head, but they are out from the squad and didn’t flight to England.

Read more: See the complete Schedule of World Cup 2019

Australia cricket team is currently ranking at the 5th position of ICC cricket rankings despite defeating India and Pakistan. Australia will play their first World Cup match against the rising World Cup qualifiers Afghanistan in a day/night match on 1 June in Bristol.

List of Players in Australia Squad for ICC World Cup 2019

[su_box title=”Aaron Finch to Lead the Team” box_color=”#366faf” title_color=”#ffffff” radius=”5″][su_animate type=”fadeInRightBig” duration=”3″]

Australia cricket team flag

  • Aaron Finch (Capt)
  • Jason Behrendorff
  • Alex Carey (wk)
  • Nathan Coulter-Nile
  • Pat Cummins
  • Usman Khawaja
  • Nathan Lyon
  • Shaun Marsh
  • Glenn Maxwell
  • Jhye Richardson
  • Steve Smith
  • Mitchell Starc
  • Marcus Stoinis
  • David Warner
  • Adam Zampa[/su_animate][/su_box]